ATL Docs latest version including copyright and usage instructions

ATL Docs 170216

About Kiwi Bob

I am a 82 year old male, retired broadcaster. For the last twelve years I have been checking out all of the letters, postcards and diaries which are held by the Alexander Turnbull Library in Wellington and to some extent those held in the Auckland War Museum. As with many of these writings, particularily postcards, the identity of the writer is often very difficult as they often simply write "Dear Molly....."and finish with '...love from your brother Sam" and similar words. By carefully reading the content, the date and where the card came from, I can often put a name to the author. This new information is then added to the Library's database. The main reason for me doing this labour-of-love is to make it easier for people out there who may suddenly wonder if there is any writing by, or mention of, a long since passed-away soldier as the centenary of Gallipoli approaches. My success rate so far has been about 25% of previously unidentified names. I spend several hours per week at the Turnbull as well as the National Archives. The Archives holds about 75% of all WW1 NZ soldier's files and as I request to sight each file, it is digitized which enables anyone to view it. As it costs NZ$25.00 to order a file without actually visiting the Archives in Wellington, I am happy to order same on any members’ behalf at no cost, if I receive a request. With the permission of the Turnbull Library and the Auckland War Museum, I am hoping to soon include my Microsoft Excel database of my work on this page. I am attaching my own very small database of manuscripts, postcards, letters etc which are my property and nothing to do with the Turnbull Library or Auckland War Museum. Please contact me if you have any questions. Kiwi Bob
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to ATL Docs latest version including copyright and usage instructions

  1. Robert Cameron says:

    This is a comment check for Kiwi Bob

  2. Cliff B says:

    An excellent database, Robert – impressive accessibility and easy-to-read.
    Cliff.

  3. al says:

    massive database, thanks for your effort
    AL Boyle
    Wellington

  4. Dylan says:

    Very accessible and user-friendly. Brilliant

  5. Henry Brittain says:

    Hi Bob, agree with other correspondents, its a credit to you and reflects all the hard work you have done over the years. I am sure that it will be well received and accessed especially with all of the interest currently being experienced on WW1 and all the other new data bases now becoming available.
    Henry B

  6. Melanie says:

    A lot of hard work and dedication Bob – congratulations.

  7. Bob says:

    Very user friendly and informative and credit to you.

  8. Russ Drewry says:

    A great resource, most comprehensive and highly interesting.

  9. Michael McBryde says:

    I used some of Bob’s resource of soldiers’ correspondence when giving a lecture in 2014 on the NZ takeover of German Samoa in August 1914. These letters added a lot of additional texture and informality to the historical detail I was explaining to my audience at Victoria University.

  10. Hi Bob. I am putting together displays for the Centenary of the WW1 Soldiers Block at Queen Mary Hospital in Hanmer Springs. I am looking for stories of soldiers who passed through the hospital. Can you recall any of your men who may have been patients there?

    • Kiwi Bob says:

      Hi Emily. You may have received a partial reply Hamner mention I have in my database refers to to this but I will repeat what I hoped I had sent. The only reference in my database is in MS-Papers-1543 at the Turnbull Library.
      MERRIMAN, Richard born Wellington, Dereby, England 14/1/1883 the son of Mr RM Merriman of Derbyshire, England. He was attested at Trentham 20/12/1914. WW1 papers, Richard is mentioned in two letters from George Thomas dated 28/8/15 and 13/9/15. He was invalided home to NZ 11/6/1916 per ‘Ulimoroa’ arriving at Port Chalmers 16/7/1916 and received his final discharge 13/8/1916 giving his location as Hamner Sproigs, Canterbury. There are no records of his marriage or death.@@ Non Art Drive 3.16Mb I will check it out further and let you know as he may have ben sent to the rest home.
      Cheers Bob

    • Kiwi Bob says:

      Hi again Emily have you checked out the holdings at the National Archive?
      Cheers Bob

Leave a Reply

