Leslie Gower’s written material

Gower150130

Gower150327

Gower150312

Gower150225

Gower150125etc

Gower150123

Gower150112

Gower150314

Gower141214

Gower141112

Gower141016

Gower141023

Gower141016

Gower150713

Gower Letters etc composite 1

About Kiwi Bob

I am a 79 year old male, retired broadcaster. For the last seven years I have been checking out all of the letters, postcards and diaries which are held by the Alexander Turnbull Library in Wellington and to some extent those held in the Auckland War Museum. As with many of these writings, particularily postcards, the identity of the writer is often very difficult as they often simply write "Dear Molly....."and finish with '...love from your brother Sam" and similar words. By carefully reading the content, the date and where the card came from, I can often put a name to the author. This new information is then added to the Library's database. The main reason for me doing this labour-of-love is to make it easier for people out there who may suddenly wonder if there is any writing by, or mention of a long since passed-away soldier as the centenary of Gallipoli approaches. My success rate so far has been about 25% of previously unidentified names. I spend several hours per week at the Turnbull as well as the National Archives. The Archives holds about 70% of all WW1 NZ soldier's files and as I request to sight each file, it is digitized which enables anyone to view it. As it costs NZ$25.00 to order a file without actually visiting the Archives in Wellington, I am happy to order same on any members behalf at no cost if I receive a request. With the permission of the Turnbull Library and the Auckland War Museum, I am hoping to soon include my Microsoft Excel database of my work on this page. I am attaching my very small database of manuscripts, postcards, letters etc which are my property and nothing to do with the Turnbull Library or Auckland War Museum. Please contact me if you have any questions. Kiwi Bob
This entry was posted in Leslie Gower. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Leslie Gower’s written material

  1. Allen George Boyle says:

    Wallpaper looks excellent, easy to access Gowers letters

  2. Allen George Boyle says:

    I cannot find the appendix showing the plan of Leslie’s trench/gun pit. I found photos of Grantully Castle on Google Image

  3. Rocky says:

    Hullo “Kiwi Bob” this response is nothing to do with your wonderful work of tracing lost friend’s (Though you have done well in this line of dedicated work). Bob I wish to sincerely “Thank you” for helping me in another way) Country Music. I had lost track of you, and always wanted to say Thank You, until I saw you on the programme of helping the families of fallen through defending their beliefs.
    You have the heart, and patients of the gentle man.(as alway’s) “Kiwi Bob – My e-mail address darockcountry@xtra.co.nz Rocky Don H – Take Care my friend until one day we can catch up. Regards Rocky

    • Kiwi Bob says:

      Rocky, what a nice surprise to hear from you. I still remember your “Gentle Mr Roseman” song with pleasure. Jope you are still performing and thanks for your kind words. Bob

  4. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for next

Leave a Reply

